Okowa Advises Political Appointees on Continuity

Nigerians Advised To Shun Drug Abuse
Armed Robbery: Delta Police Nab Two Suspects, Recover Firearms
Peaceful Delta: Okowa Commends Traditional Rulers
Spread the love

By Dave Okpogadie, Asaba

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa has urged political appointees to ensure cohesion in policy execution by carrying on from where their predecessors stopped.
The Delta State governor made the call in an address he delivered at the inauguration of the chairmen and members of boards of Land Allocation Committee, Arts Council, Institute of Continuing Education, Urban E-Water Board, Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Agency, Technical and Vocational Education Board, Agency for Adult and Non-Formal Education, Bursary and Scholarship Board, among others at Asaba.

He said the board chairmen and members were carefully selected based on their antecedents, expressing confidence that with their wealth of experience, ” they will make meaningful contributions to the growth and sustainability” of the varied agencies.
“I would like to reiterate the fact that you have been selected to serve on these boards on account of your proven integrity, unwavering loyalty and uncommon sense of duty.
“It is my sincere hope that you will bring these worthy attributes to bear on the discharge of this very vital assignment as you are expected to demonstrate the highest standards in the discharge of your responsibilities.

“You are expected to carry on from where your predecessors left off and improve on their achievements. This would require total commitment and diligence of the highest order, attributes, which I am confident that you will epitomize.

“You are enjoined to make sustainable contributions capable of expanding the frontiers focus of these agencies to make them much better than you met them.Let the policies you enunciate be productive enough to justify the confidence reposed in you and serve as enduring legacies you will leave behind. ”

While congratulating them, Governor Okowa warned them to desist from engaging in any action capable of bringing division in the state.
“As we strive to build a strong, united, progressive state, we must eschew the temptation to pander to primordial sentiments and divisive tendencies.
“We should focus on emphasizing the strength of our diversity and the renowned resilience and creativity that mark Deltans apart as a uniquely gifted people. It is in this context that I advise that you should not subject decisions to the expediency of cheap political advantage, with its potential for avoidable discord.

He urged them to be guided by integrity, accountability and transparency.
“Chairmen and members of these boards should be conscious of the imperative to be guided at all times by the principles of integrity, accountability and transparency, and the need to function in the overall interest of our people.”
Responding on behalf of the appointees, Hon. TalebTebite thanked Governor Okowa for choosing them to serve in his administration to use their different positions to serve the people of the state and assured that they will carry out their duties diligently and with the fear of God.

The inaugurated boards have: Land Allocation Committee: Prince Godwin Ogorugba – chairman; members – Mr. Austine Mburiche, Mr. ChidozieOkocha, Mr. Felix Erhimedafe, Mrs. Gladys Ukpe, Hon. Tashemi O. Jonathan, Pastor Mark Sibe.
Arts Council: Hon. Collins Bello –chairman; members – Hon. Ebike Victor Oromoni, Hon. OnomeOjo, Mr. Ernest Ososo, Raphael Odorewu, Chief James Toka, Mrs. Tombra Korokoro.

Institute of Continuing Education: Chief Champion Kpateghe–chairman; members – Hon. Hope EfemeneIgeme, Mrs. Christiana Omagbemi, Chief Ashibudike Otutu.

Urban Water Board: Hon. Chief TalebTebite–chairman; members – Mr. Mike Okoh, Hon. Mary Efeurhue, Mrs. Tina Okolo, Immaculate Brialade, Mr. Lucky Tiemo, Hon. Vosa Okotie Edeme.

Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Agency: Hon. Ejaife Odebala–chairman; members – Mr. D.R. Macauley, Mr. Gabriel Nmor, Mrs. Faith Usikaro, Harry Oharisi Esq., Mrs. Florence Okolo.

Technical and Vocational Education Board – MikeAkpobire – chairman, Smart Ikem (executive secretary);members – Fidelis Okolo.
Agency for Adult and Non-Formal Education, Ogbueshi Akaeze P. Ibonye–chairman; members – Prince Victor Egbune, Chief Mrs. Vera Onosigho, Mr. Churchill Wessey, Olisenekwu Edward O.

Bursary and Scholarship Board: Mr. Sam Igumbor – chairman, Mr. Sunday Orishedere, (executive secretary);members – Evan. S.I. Obuseh, Hon. Susan Kakanda Preyor, Dr. Mrs. Dorothy Odiase, Mrs. Clark Josephine, Miss Blessing Odje, Winefred Elunor Esq., Mrs. Kate Otuya, Mrs. Rachel Oghenegharohwo Okene.